Charged With Battery in Wisconsin?
In Wisconsin, the criminal charge of Battery ranges in severity from a Class A Misdemeanor to a Class C Felony. For example, in Wisconsin, intentionally causing bodily harm to another person (i.e. striking that person with enough force to cause pain), without that person’s consent, is a Class A Misdemeanor. The maximum penalty, if convicted, is up to 9 months jail and/or a $10,000.00 fine. By contrast, intentionally causing great bodily harm (i.e. striking someone with enough force to create a substantial risk of death or even protracted impairment of the function of a body part or organ) is a Class C Felony if the victim is a child or elderly person. The maximum penalty, if convicted, is up to 40 years in prison and/or a $100,000.00 fine. Additionally, in cases involving domestic violence, a Battery conviction will result in you losing your gun rights for life under the federal Lautenberg Amendment.
Depending on the type of Battery alleged, to convict you of a crime, at a minimum, the State must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you intentionally caused bodily harm to another person knowing they did not consent. For more serious Battery charges, the State will need to prove beyond a reasonable doubt additional elements, including that you intentionally caused bodily harm to a specific type of person such as a child or adult, and/or that the level of force you used caused that person a more serious form of bodily harm, such as substantial bodily harm (example: injury that causes a broken bone or requires stitches) or great bodily harm (example: a more serious injury that causes permanent loss of bodily function or is sufficiently serious such as a stab wound that requires hospitalization).
Our firm has a track record of success defending our clients of Battery charges. We have had cases dismissed at the Preliminary Hearing and persuaded prosecutors to dismiss Felony Battery charges before trial. One common defense to battery is self-defense.